Lee Fishman, Area 6 Member Spotlight

Lee Fishman is from Philadelphia and writes commercial fiction.

Q: When did you begin writing with the intent to be published? Why, what sparked the author inside you to finally write?

I started writing because there was a story that needed to be told. Since no one else was telling it, I decided to dive in.

Q: What completed/published works do you have or what are you currently working on? Describe them.

I just put my first ebook up on Amazon and Smashwords, EDGE OF A DREAM. It’s the story of an immigrant couple who come to America and find themselves pulled in opposite directions. I have two other pieces I’m working on. One is a novelization of a screenplay, the second is a story line with an exciting beginning that is, currently in need of an ending.

Q: Are you involved in any critique groups, classes, or other writing communities? Any personal experiences from them you’d like to share? Places/events you’d like other members from Area 6 to know about.

I was fortunate enough to live near many fine educational institutions and have been able to take advantage of writing course in several formats for the last 8 or 9 years. These included screen writing, creative non-fiction and novelization courses at University of the Arts and Temple Center City. Both schools are blessed with great instructors and their critiques were very helpful for a beginning writer. I’ve been in several writing groups in the past 3 or 4 years, as well. My current writing group is fairly recent. The group meets twice a month and generally there are seven to ten attendees. We submit our work in advance, read it over and meet in person, to give feedback and discuss craft which I love. Most of the writers are interested in publishing and there’s a fairly even split between those who write long form fiction and memoir. Presenting your work for critique is tough but well worth it.

Q: What inspires your writing? What breathes life into your work?

Inspiration comes in many forms. I often find myself drawn to stories in the news. I like to work what’s happening in the world into my story lines. In fact, my first completed work, a screenplay titled TENTACLE is based on events surrounding a real-life murder and cover-up.

Q: What is a genre that you would more than likely never tackle, why?

Although I admire poets greatly, I don’t think I have the aptitude for symbolism that is critical to writing good poetry.

Q: What is a normal day like for you, tell us how you get all that writing in?

My best writing is done first thing in the morning, even before I have a cup of coffee. The ideas seem to flow best then. Sad to say, if it doesn’t happen then, it usually doesn’t happen. Like most of us, I must continue working my day job full-time.  More often than not, my brain is pretty fried by the time I get home.

Q: Where do you do most of your writing. A special place in your home, at a park, etc.

I have my old laptop set up on the dining room table. Luckily, I have very few formal dinners that call for rearranging my workspace. Having my computer, notes and manuscripts in plain sight helps me dive right into my project when the time is right.

Q: What stage of publication are you in; first draft, editing, querying? How has that experience been?  

I began EDGE OF A DREAM in 2007 and finished the first draft in about 9 months. I went through three more complete revisions. Once I felt I was ready to finalize, I began attending writing conferences and pitching agents. Initially I received many offers to submit, and got some good feedback. I think it was beginning of 2010 that conditions in the publishing industry took a drastic turn. At that point I began to feel this was a time to publish independently and here I am.

Q: Can you tell us a little about the main characters in EDGE OF A DREAM?

Rija is a twenty-something young wife and mother who finds herself on her own in a new world. Responsible for her mother and her young daughter she deals with an immigrant’s harsh reality when she’s thrown into a new country, a new city and a new job. A tough-minded survivor who came of age during a war of ethnic cleansing, she’s unrelenting in defense of her family and not above bargaining in blood to save them.

Josef, Rija’s husband, is charming, capricious, easily seduced by the American dream and eager to try his hand at achieving the good life. But when his vision of success collapses, the would-be wheeler-dealer turns police informant to save his own skin.

Q:  What is next for you?

I want to spend significant time promoting Edge of a Dream, I am also continuing to work on the other two major writing projects I have underway.

Q: You are a sandwich, describe yourself on a menu.

I might be a grilled cheese. Crispy around the edges and soft in the middle.

Q: If you could be a superhero, what would your name and power be? 

My superhero would be PromoWoman, able to sell books at a single bound!

More about Lee Fishman can be found on her website, www.leefishman.net , You can also follow her on Twitter: http://twitter/leefishman1

 

2 responses to “Lee Fishman, Area 6 Member Spotlight

  1. Can I hire PromoWoman to help me sell my novel? LOL 🙂 Best of luck with Edge of a Dream, Lee. It sounds great!

  2. Best wishes! Nice to see you blog touring! Enjoy the (indoor) weather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

