Virtual Book Tour: stop # 7 (or 8, maybe)

Since I’m doing a virtual book tour, I guess I might as well include Pennwriters Area 6. It’s been a while since I’ve been here. My book tour is going well, I’ve guest blogged at about 7 or 8 blogs now. I have no idea if this experience has given me any extra exposure, but it is relatively easy to do. Easy, that is, compared to actually touring.

The reason I’m virtual book touring is to support the launch of my interactive novel, The Textile Planet. I’ve got 6 chapters “out there,” so far. Number 7’s going up this weekend, and in fact the whole ebook is rolling out sometime in the next few weeks. I’m in the process of seeking advanced reviews for that.

This whole Internet promotion thing is weird compared to promotion out in reality. For one thing, everything happens quickly. With instantaneous communication, if you don’t act on a request or tip immediately, by the time you get around to it, you are so yesterday. If someone wants a copy of something, get on it now. The review or news will be posted within 24 hours and if you take your time in getting the news about your news out, it’ll be totally irrelevant before you can hit the “send” button. And old news is the kiss of death on the Internet.

This experience is exhilarating, but mentally exhausting at the same time. I can’t help lying awake at night wondering about who I forgot to get back to and now what fabulous opportunity I’m missing.

Here’s a weird thing: My Singularity Watch blog, which deals with technology and culture, attracted the attention of some odd new media group in the UK. They sent me an invitation to participate on a “From Metropolis to the Matrix” panel in March in Bath, England. I was flattered, of course, and interested because it’s obviously my topic. My first thought, though, was it’s a little far to go to be on a panel. Then I thought more. Why not? How bad can it be in March in the UK? Can’t be worse than PA, right? I responded by saying I might be interested, could they give me a few days to think about it. No answer. It’s been a week now and I’ve pretty much written them off. Sad, really. Things are speeding up even more than the science fiction writers have predicted they would.

Anyway, I’m trying to speed up right along with everything and at the same time keep my head fastened on. Not sure how I’m doing, but I’m definitely staying young.

To check out The Textile Planet read it online at bookviewcafe.com

Leave a Reply

